| Register  | FAQ  | Search | Login 
It is currently Tue Sep 30, 2014 4:57 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: quilt help!
PostPosted: Sun May 15, 2011 3:54 pm 
Thinks Plants Have Feelings

i got a beautiful quilt on etsy! but it's just the color fabric squares sewn together- there's no backing. i also bought a sheet of backing muslin that will fit- now i just have to sew them together! i'm a total newbie when it comes to sewing- any advice for doing this? (i don't have a sewing machine, so this will have to be done by hand.) alls i knows is that i should pin it, and that i should sew most of it inside out and then flip it. right? heh.

thanks!

Post subject: Re: quilt help!
PostPosted: Sun May 15, 2011 4:28 pm 
Seagull of the PPK

you might also want to get batting to fill it in (so it's heavier and warmer). If you plan to hang it, you might want to use a cheap flannel-type of fabric so it hangs nicely. If you want to use it, find a nice warm batting.

Is your backing sheet larger than the quilt? If it is, you could consider making a mitered or T border for the quilt from the backing sheet (see http://www.patchwork-quilt-patterns.com ... rders.html for basics on borders). I did one a few years ago with a small mitered edge and it was really easy. Yes, you would sew it inside out and flip it all at the end and do the last little bit Very Very Carefully.
this seems to be a relatively straightforward and helpful page with some ideas
http://quilting.about.com/od/finishings ... acking.htm

PostPosted: Sun May 15, 2011 6:37 pm 
Nooch of Earl

Torque is right. But if you're not feeling up to the challenge, a lot of quilt stores will finish a quilt from this stage for you, maybe even with nice fancy stitching patterns that you couldn't easily do on your own.