| Register  | FAQ  | Search | Login 
It is currently Tue Sep 02, 2014 3:50 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Ukulele!
PostPosted: Tue Jun 21, 2011 4:51 pm 
Drunk Dialed Ian MacKaye

I'm learning how to play ukulele, and I have no experience with stringed instruments. What I'm having trouble is strumming. At first it just didn't sound as nice and light as what I was hearing on youtube videos, but I think it was just the way I was holding it and I was strumming too hard. Now I have a lot of problems keeping rhythm, and particularly strumming up throws me off really bad. I'm trying to play a slower song but still no dice. Strumming instructions don't seem to help because they don't tell me how fast to go. Is there a trick to keeping yourself in rhythm?

Post subject: Re: Ukulele!
PostPosted: Tue Jun 21, 2011 4:57 pm 
Should Write a Goddam Book Already

Instead of trying a different song that's slower, play the song you're trying to learn really, really slowly. Eventually you'll be able to speed it up.

PostPosted: Mon Jul 04, 2011 11:23 am 
Huffs Nutritional Yeast

Start off with some songs you already have uke recordings for. It's super easy to rearrange guitar pop once you know how to play, but when you're learning it's best to have some legit uke players to emulate. Start off practicing playing the rhythm of a song you like without thinking about the chord progression or melody or anything. Then, once the rhythm is feeling smooth and easy, add the chord progression. Start slow (like, half the song's actual speed) and work up to speed. Play to a metronome, if you can stand it. And (here's the part that I've always been bad at) keep practicing.

Do you have any particular uke heroes? My friend just introduced me to Eddie Vedder's uke album and I'm like !.

PostPosted: Mon Jul 04, 2011 12:23 pm 
Drunk Dialed Ian MacKaye

Eddie Vedder has a uke album?!