| Register  | FAQ  | Search | Login 
It is currently Fri Dec 19, 2014 6:06 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Soymilk Makers
PostPosted: Wed Nov 03, 2010 7:38 pm 
Trapped On A Desert Island With A Cow

I've been contemplating buying one lately, since I have been drinking soy/almond/rice/oat-milk for something like 15 years now, and it makes me dizzy thinking about how much $$ and packaging that must add up to. It would awesome on the tofu-making end too. Any recommendations?

Post subject: Re: Soymilk Makers
PostPosted: Wed Nov 03, 2010 8:04 pm 
Can't Dance, Isn't Part of Revolution

i got a soyquick soy milk maker, got the tofu kit with it and now am spoiled for any other tofu. i usually make soy milk which turns out great. its very rich and creamy. the almond milk is nice too. from starting the machine to clean up, it takes about half an hour, but 15 min of that is waiting for the machine to do its work. its nice to not have to throw out all those tetra pacs, too. the only thing i feel guilty about is throwing away all that soy pulp. despite all the recipes in the new farm cookbook, i just don't bother. it goes in the compost. i wish i could give it to my dog, he eats anything, but i dont think its very good for him.

PostPosted: Thu Nov 04, 2010 7:29 pm 

Thanks! I have read good things about the Soyquick brand, so I think I will investigate further. Homemade tofuuuuu.

PostPosted: Thu Nov 04, 2010 7:55 pm 
Banned from Vegan Freaks.

I received the Soyapower plus as a gift, then shortly after won a free Soyquick and have tried them both. As far as how they work, they seemed to produce equal milks (I made soy and almond in each). The insides of each are nearly identical, so cleanup is the same. It's not bad as long as you do it right away! The cleanup kit, pitcher, measuring cup were both exactly the same. The manuals are similar, Soyapower had more recipes (although I've only ever made the basic).