Post Punk Kitchen Forum
http://forum.theppk.com/

Accidentally vegan gum
http://forum.theppk.com/viewtopic.php?f=33&t=15342
Page 1 of 1

Author:  Kittykins [ Tue Oct 18, 2011 1:19 am ]
Post subject:  Accidentally vegan gum

Does anyone know any gum that is vegan? Vegan Crunk's blog says Wrigley's gum is vegan but apparently some of them aren't. I emailed the company to find out if 5 gum is vegan but haven't gotten a reply yet.

Author:  rocklobster [ Tue Oct 18, 2011 8:54 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Accidentally vegan gum

i thought orbits were supposed to be vegan? but i dont know about that either. i think anything in the hard shell is not.

Author:  Meggs [ Tue Oct 18, 2011 10:11 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Accidentally vegan gum

There's hard shell vegan gum in the UK, so I don't know if that is an accurate statement or if it's country-specific.

Author:  Nicole [ Tue Oct 18, 2011 10:31 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Accidentally vegan gum

What I read was that Wrigley's (so Extra, 5) is vegan unless the particular product has "flavor crystals" or a hard shell.

Sincerely,
Peppermint Extra Addict

Author:  Kittykins [ Tue Oct 18, 2011 4:33 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Accidentally vegan gum

Thanks guys. I have anxiety and find that chewing gum helps.

Author:  Niev [ Tue Oct 18, 2011 4:40 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Accidentally vegan gum

I'm pretty sure 5 gum has gelatin.

Author:  missmuffcake [ Tue Oct 18, 2011 5:49 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Accidentally vegan gum

No - it seems gelatin free. I know some Orbit gums are vegan - I used to chew those but then did % gum

ingredients for 5:

INGREDIENTS: MADE OF: SORBITOL, GUM BASE, GLYCEROL, MANNITOL, NATURAL AND ARTIFICIAL FLAVORS, LESS THAN 2% OF HYDROGENATED STARCH HYDROLYSATE, ASPARTAME, ACESULFAME K, SOY LECITHIN, BHT (TO MAINTAIN FRESHNESS), COLORS (YELLOW 6, YELLOW 5 LAKE, BLUE 1, BLUE 1 LAKE). PHENYLKETONURICS: CONTAINS PHENYLALANINE

Author:  fruitbat [ Tue Oct 18, 2011 5:53 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Accidentally vegan gum

I thought aspartame wasn't vegan?

Author:  RandiJM [ Tue Oct 18, 2011 7:43 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Accidentally vegan gum

I've been betting on that Orbit gum being vegan thing; I buy it by the case.

Author:  linanil [ Tue Oct 18, 2011 7:48 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Accidentally vegan gum

Yeah aspartame is processed by an enzyme from pig kidneys. So its not vegan. Of course I have to say I'm not exactly great in the aspartame category.

Author:  linanil [ Tue Oct 18, 2011 8:08 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Accidentally vegan gum

So given aspartame is derived from a pig kidney enzyme, I figured out it wasn't kosher and started looking into gums. Apparently there is a kosher version of Orbit gum that you might be able to find at kosher markets. So I'm guessing that it would also be vegan?

Author:  fupapack [ Tue Oct 18, 2011 8:29 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Accidentally vegan gum

from animal ingredients a-z put out by ak press, it states that wrigley's is vegan. which i've gone by since high school. and orbit is made from wrigley's so i've gone by that!

Author:  missmuffcake [ Tue Oct 18, 2011 8:40 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Accidentally vegan gum

There was a whole aspartame debate on the old boards. I do not eat it - I know others do not care.

Author:  linanil [ Tue Oct 18, 2011 8:56 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Accidentally vegan gum

Also, wrigley's gum is a sugar based gum (no aspartame). It looks like A-Z was published in 2001? Formulas change but I thought Orbit gum was fairly recent (past 5 years?).

Xylitol is the ingredient you want if you want vegan, sugar-free gum.

Author:  fupapack [ Tue Oct 18, 2011 9:28 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Accidentally vegan gum

There have.been multipe editions

Author:  linanil [ Tue Oct 18, 2011 10:16 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Accidentally vegan gum

fupapack wrote:
There have.been multipe editions


I tried to look it up and was going by the 2001 date of the last one I saw. Again, I am lax on aspartame myself as it is hard for me to give up but I'm conscious of the fact that it isn't vegan. I figure everyone has that choice to make for themselves.

Author:  fupapack [ Wed Oct 19, 2011 10:01 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Accidentally vegan gum

not all the gums are sugar free.

Author:  linanil [ Wed Oct 19, 2011 10:15 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Accidentally vegan gum

Yup and there are quite a few vegan gums that aren't sugar free. The Wrigley stick gum is probably a good example. Orbit though is sugar-free and contains aspartame. Although as I said earlier, there is a kosher version of Orbit gum that doesn't contain aspartame. It is apparently available via mail order and some kosher stores. I'm guessing that it is vegan. The Orbit gum you find in the regular store will contain aspartame though.

Author:  fupapack [ Wed Oct 19, 2011 10:44 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Accidentally vegan gum

whatever.

Author:  Meggs [ Wed Oct 19, 2011 10:55 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Accidentally vegan gum

Linanil could be right, so I don't know why there was a need to have some sort of last word in. Like has been pointed out, there are exceptions to every rule you (general you, not you you) think exist, as there is gum in the UK that is hard shell & says vegan right on the package.

Author:  linanil [ Wed Oct 19, 2011 11:01 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Accidentally vegan gum

Well and as I said, I still consume aspartame from time to time. I only recently found out it wasn't vegan. I'm not really one for vegan purity though. There is also a possibility that they could recreate the pig enzyme in the lab although who knows if they need to start with a donor enzyme or what not. I'm sure with lab techniques, they should be able to at least synthesize it on some level.

Author:  Quarantined [ Wed Oct 19, 2011 11:57 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Accidentally vegan gum

fupapack wrote:
whatever.

From how I read the thread, Linanil was just trying to be clear on which gums actually contain aspartame and which do not, instead of making a blanket statement that all gum made by Wrigley's are vegan. I found her input to be helpful.

Author:  1strangegirlbygolly! [ Wed Oct 19, 2011 7:41 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Accidentally vegan gum

Edit: Okay, Glee gum's vegetarian, but not vegan. I had remarked that I thought it was accidentally vegan, but not anymore where I buy it from! Sad!

Author:  terri_to [ Wed Oct 19, 2011 8:41 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Accidentally vegan gum

I found this online about Glee gum:

Quote:
" Glee Gum has recently been certified vegetarian by the American Vegetarian Association. Our resinous glaze is made from the secretions of the Lac insect, accrued in a manner which does not harm the insect. I am attaching a copy of a recent email the American Vegetarian Association sent a curious customer about this very issue. If you wrote us in the past, we may have been under the impression that our resinous glaze WAS harmful to insects -- we have since learned (happily!) that we were mistaken. Therefore, though our gum is NOT vegan, it is indeed vegetarian."


And their website describes Pur gum as "vegan-friendly."

Author:  RandiJM [ Wed Oct 26, 2011 7:59 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Accidentally vegan gum

Thanks linanil for the kosher orbit tip!

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/