| Register  | FAQ  | Search | Login 
It is currently Fri Aug 29, 2014 11:30 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: I'm a chicken farmer now..
PostPosted: Tue Apr 10, 2012 11:19 am 
Attended Chelsea Clinton's Wedding

I haven't posted in a long time, just thought I'd write real quick to reaffirm my love for everyone here and give a quick update. I've often been on the lurkier side of things so if you don't know me then it's nice to meet you!
I've been working and living on a farm in Watsonville, CA since January which has definitely been a big change. It's called Live Earth Farm and is a really cool place, with a huge CSA (700+ members), lots of wild space and hiking trails, cool dogs (a Maremma and a bunch of little chihuahua types), cats, goats, chickens, wild turkeys, skunks, owls, poison oak, all kinds of fun stuff. I'm living in a yurt here, it is pretty forking sweet.
I work half the week for the educational program; helping to maintain the garden, work with kids, and do other random stuff. The other half of the week I work for the farm doing some farmers markets and random stuff, but mostly I take care of 500 hens everyday. They are in 2 flocks, 1 in a coop and another in a mobile trailer. They are all pasture-raised and moved around to fresh tall grass every couple weeks. Definitely kind of an intense job for a vegan but I am finding some joy in it too, despite the cognitive dissonance. I collect about 300 eggs every morning, super weird!
Anyways, anyone in the area should come out to visit me sometime! The farm is very community-oriented, we will be having U-picks every weekend and larger events the last weekend of every month. I've got some hard cider brewing that I'm planning to bust out for our solstice party if that may encourage any of you to cruise by..

Post subject: Re: I'm a chicken farmer now..
PostPosted: Tue Apr 10, 2012 12:12 pm 
Dying from Nooch Lung