| Register  | FAQ  | Search | Login 
It is currently Mon Oct 20, 2014 3:53 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 2094 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 84  Next
 Post subject: Women who have chosen not to have kids
PostPosted: Sun Feb 10, 2013 8:16 am 
Tofu Pup

I'm looking to communicate with women who have chosen not to have kids and thought this might be a good place to open that discussion. I'm 38 and live with my partner of 5 years and our two dogs (plus a revolving foster dog). I've never had the urge to have children and feel like I have a very full (and busy!) life. We really enjoy down time and relaxing together and love our freedom. I don't think I could give up the spontaneity that we have now. Anyone else feel the same way? I should add that I'm a teacher and appreciate good parents so very much. I know what goes into parenting and know it's so very much work. I'm just not sure that I'd be able to dedicate the time and energy and still get what I currently want out of life.

Post subject: Re: Women who have chosen not to have kids
PostPosted: Sun Feb 10, 2013 8:27 am 
Mispronounces Daiya

Im only 23 but I have been with my boyfriend for 2-3 years now (known him a bit longer) and in the past year or so I was really weirded out by people asking me about me wanting to have children. And it was always about ME wanting children, not us. As a matter of fact we're both too misantrophic (or just pessimistic, maybe) for children and having children sounds rather nightmarish to us.

I guess, please don't take this personal if you're a parent, wanting to have children always seemed a bit of selfish thing to me.

PostPosted: Sun Feb 10, 2013 8:30 am 
Semen Strong