| Register  | FAQ  | Search | Login 
It is currently Wed Apr 16, 2014 1:13 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 211 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 9  Next
 Post subject: Glasgow, Scotland.
PostPosted: Sun Feb 27, 2011 8:01 pm 
Chard Martyr

Talk to me about it. Where should I fly into the UK (from Chicago)?
Where should I stay? (I'm on a budget, obvs).
What is the best time of year to visit?
What else do I need to know?

And.... I think that I'd maybe like to go to the highlands and mountains... would I be able to drive there, if I am a licensed driver in the U.S.? I've never traveled Internationally before.

Thanks!

Post subject: Re: Glasgow, Scotland.
PostPosted: Sun Feb 27, 2011 10:43 pm 
Mispronounces Daiya

i've been going to the UK regularly for almost 4 years, and sadly i've never been north of Birmingham. but based on various things i've heard:

- Glasgow (as well as the rest of Scotland) is quite cold and damp in the winter, so that's probably not the best time to visit. it can even be chilly in the summer, though the days are awesomely long at 50+ degrees north.

- Glasgow seems to have a good amount of vegan options. i'm a map nerd, so i've compiled a bunch of veg-friendly shops and eateries here: http://maps.google.com/maps/ms?ie=UTF8& ... 6e028b&z=6 (it's for all of the UK, but you can zoom in on the Glasgow cluster).

- Edinburgh and Glasgow both have major international airports. check your local airport(s) and see where they fly.

and yeah, you can drive on an American license. just try not to clip any parked cars like i did.

I'm going to put my cats in a baby bjorn and be like, "LOOK WE CAN STILL HANG OUT LOOK WE'RE HAVING A PLAYDATE." - bathsheba

PostPosted: Mon Feb 28, 2011 5:59 am 
Invented Vegan Meringue

Fly into Glasgow Prestwick or Edinburgh and take the bus or train. Flight prices tend to be pretty much the same for both (at least, when I've looked for flights out to America).