I haven't lived there in awhile. BUT they do have black beans and rice and fries. Their menu
is online. The black beans and rice are listed as vegetarian and as far as I know they add cheddar to it as a topping.
I could never really understand the appeal of the place.
If you could get him to try Gold Star
instead, they have a vegan chili. Bonus trivia! I went to school with one of the owner's sons!