| Register  | FAQ  | Search | Login 
It is currently Tue Nov 25, 2014 4:03 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Nice, France
PostPosted: Sun Mar 09, 2014 5:30 pm 
Drunk Dialed Ian MacKaye

So, I will be visiting one of my friends in May, who is staying in Nice for 6 months. But the internet seems to suggest that Nice is basically the land of no vegan food. I would LOVE to be able to go out and eat at least once when I visit, so dear ppk'ers, help a girl out! I speak decent french, so communication is not an issue (I hope! haha), but figuring out where to go is.
Are there any awesome health food stores in Nice? Great supermarkets for getting soy yogurt?

Also, a pretty different question: I'm an architecture student, so I really want to go out and draw awesome architecture, any leads on what I should check out? And are there any awesome art museums? I'm really into contemporary art, but I'm up for anything.

Post subject: Re: Nice, France
PostPosted: Sun Mar 09, 2014 6:48 pm 
Nooch of Earl

I went there for a week or so. We stayed at a couple bedroom rental with a kitchen, and that helped a bit. Did a bunch of day trips (Eze, Cannes, Monaco) and I don't remember it being that difficult, but I was with a friend who is fluent in French and would have these long conversations that I didn't understand a word of but eventually ended in my getting vegan food. I don't even remember where we went out to eat specifically within Nice (maybe some middle eastern type stuff?), just that in general France is a place where if you can communicate what you need, no self respecting chef is going to make you go hungry.

This is maybe the least helpful post ever, sorry. I don't remember Nice having very interesting architecture but the sculpture garden at Eze is gorgeous!

PostPosted: Sun Mar 16, 2014 9:06 am 
Hoards Peppermint Jo-Jos