| Register  | FAQ  | Search | Login 
It is currently Tue Sep 30, 2014 7:48 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 178 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 8  Next
 Post subject: Language Lab: joys (and not) of foreign language learning
PostPosted: Thu Mar 27, 2014 12:47 am 
Grandfathered In

What languages are you learning?

Why?

How's it going?

What techniques are you using? Self study? Software? Classes? Tutors?

Know any good books? Sites? Apps?

And so forth?

Post subject: Re: Language Lab: joys (and not) of foreign language learnin
PostPosted: Thu Mar 27, 2014 7:53 am 
Making Threats to Punks Again

I've been learning Portuguese since September 2012, which started as part of a funded programme to learn the language and go to Brazil in summer 2013. I've stalled a bit due to quitting classes over an horrible tutor taking the class I started attending after I returned, but I still have a pile of Portuguese books I'm hoping to pick up again soon to practice my reading comprehension and vocabulary expansion. I'd like to visit Portugal soon and so I'm keen to start learning and practicing properly again, even though the Portuguese in Brazil and Portugal is quite different.

When I was first learning I used memrise to quickly pick up a lot of new vocabulary, which was really helpful (and free!)

PostPosted: Thu Mar 27, 2014 8:00 am 
Vegan Vegan Vegan Vegan Vegan

Dutch! By immersion. I am too shy to speak (unless it's to veggie sellers or grandparents or tiny kids), but I absorb all kinds of information passively: I listen to Dutch NPR, read the newspaper and kids books in Dutch, and sometimes tease my boyfriend in Dutch. (He is a native speaker, but the hiccups that occur with babbling in a language you're not quite proficient at confuse his poor brain.) I also go to lectures and meetings at the university in Dutch whenever possible. For passive skills, it is great! For active skills, arg, I wish I were better.