| Register  | FAQ  | Search | Login 
It is currently Fri Oct 24, 2014 12:19 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 62 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Aaand...it's not vegan...
PostPosted: Sun Dec 09, 2012 3:42 pm 
Offline
Tofu Pup Forever

Joined: Sat Dec 08, 2012 10:38 am
Posts: 18
Location: Upstate NY
So, today, I put together a vegan lasagna with almond ricotta, topped it with bread crumbs and threw it in the oven. Then I thought, oh, I should read contents on those bread crumbs. I mean, I have no idea why they'd have anything other than bread and herbs, but I should get used to reading labels...

Milk. Honey.

Granted, this is a completely rookie mistake, and a quick read of the label would have made it clear. But I know now that beer is often not vegan, and strawberry smoothies at Starbucks were not until recently. So...

How do I find out if my beer is vegan (so I can make an informed choice), and what are the other 'surprise' foods you discovered in your early vegan days that aren't vegan?

(Not to mislead anyone - I'm not vegan. I'm a toe dipper. But it's incredibly frustrating to not be able to determine, with relative ease, if a food item is vegan or not.)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Aaand...it's not vegan...
PostPosted: Sun Dec 09, 2012 3:48 pm 
Offline
WRETCHED
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 19, 2010 6:54 pm
Posts: 8651
Location: Maryland/DC area
I wouldn't worry about it, it takes a bit.

Things I've fallen for:
- Trader Joe's Italian sausages (contain egg whites)
- Many other random things, I can't think of anything specific

One easy way is to see if an item contains cholesterol. Nothing vegan should have cholesterol in it. I usually scan the ingredients and if my husband is with me, I'll have him scan them too.

_________________
You are all a disgrace to vegans. Go f*ck yourselves, especially linanil.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Aaand...it's not vegan...
PostPosted: Sun Dec 09, 2012 3:54 pm 
Offline
Dead by dawn
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 19, 2010 9:54 pm
Posts: 7943
Location: Seattle
Barnivore is your go-to for vegan-ness of beer (and other alcoholic beverages.)

I read ingredients even when it seems silly to do so. I usually start with the allergy warning at the end of the ingredient list because fish, shellfish, eggs and milk ingredients will all be flagged there and sometimes that saves me having to bother reading the rest. If the allergy warning is clear, I move on to the ingredient list. I'm still not 100% on trace ingredients, but I have an app on my phone for things like sodium lactylate and other crepe that I have no idea what it is.

_________________
facebook
"The PPK: Come for the pie; stay for the croissants." - tinglepants!
"Cockblocked by Richard Branson- again!" - Erika Soyf*cker


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Aaand...it's not vegan...
PostPosted: Sun Dec 09, 2012 4:21 pm 
Offline
Tofu Pup Forever

Joined: Sat Dec 08, 2012 10:38 am
Posts: 18
Location: Upstate NY
Oh, glory be! My favorite beer is vegan friendly. *wipes forehead*

I love the cholesterol trick, and the trace ingredients thing is going to take a WHILE, but I'm trying to have some awareness. The allergy warning is nice and quick, great idea!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Aaand...it's not vegan...
PostPosted: Sun Dec 09, 2012 4:28 pm 
Offline
Spent a night at the Bates Motel
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 19, 2010 8:31 pm
Posts: 2120
Location: detroit, mi
I eat mostly fresh vegetables, but sometimes I pick up frozen for those quick after-work dinners, and you have to check the labels on those as they are sometimes seasoned with butter or cheese. The bread crumbs thing is definitely annoying, I've been there. I bought granola once that had milk in it, didn't think to read the label. Some soy cheeses have milk ingredients in them.

_________________
I'm still buddhist & I still love cupcakes.
My crochet blog! http://threadbythreadzen.blogspot.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Aaand...it's not vegan...
PostPosted: Sun Dec 09, 2012 4:37 pm 
Offline
Invented Vegan Meringue
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 28, 2010 10:08 pm
Posts: 4054
Location: Pennsylvania
monkeytoes wrote:
Barnivore is your go-to for vegan-ness of beer (and other alcoholic beverages.)

I read ingredients even when it seems silly to do so. I usually start with the allergy warning at the end of the ingredient list because fish, shellfish, eggs and milk ingredients will all be flagged there and sometimes that saves me having to bother reading the rest. If the allergy warning is clear, I move on to the ingredient list. I'm still not 100% on trace ingredients, but I have an app on my phone for things like sodium lactylate and other crepe that I have no idea what it is.

I do the allergy thing too.

_________________
Music Therapy Blog
Personal Blog


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Aaand...it's not vegan...
PostPosted: Sun Dec 09, 2012 5:40 pm 
Offline
Kitchens Planning Manchester
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 14, 2011 6:10 pm
Posts: 2593
Location: Midlands, UK
Early on I remember being caught out by a carob mouse! I bought it thinking "oh, carob's what healthy vegan types eat, it's not as good as chocolate but maybe I better start getting used to it". Was halfway through munching before I thought to check the ingredients and discovered milk powder in there. I guess I was like those people who assume something gluten-free is vegan because it's 'special diet' but I didn't make that mistake again. Vegan chocolate forevermore!

_________________
"I would hug the heck out of a venomous maneating whistlepig." - 8ball


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Aaand...it's not vegan...
PostPosted: Sun Dec 09, 2012 6:02 pm 
Offline
Invented Vegan Meringue
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 06, 2010 3:25 pm
Posts: 3658
Location: Nashville, TN
Just a heads up, there are some vegan ingredients with like really miniscule amounts of cholesterol. It's a good red flag in general though.

Breadcrumbs are one of the hardest things to find vegan, it seems. Whole Foods brand is vegan, but I haven't been able to find any in a regular grocery store.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Aaand...it's not vegan...
PostPosted: Sun Dec 09, 2012 6:14 pm 
Offline
Discovered unobtainium
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 19, 2010 9:21 pm
Posts: 12251
Location: Dinosaur Stampede
Wegmans might be vegan. They say they may contain a lot of crepe. The label is confusing.

Panko is vegan unless there is some weird brand floating aeound that isn't.

_________________
"This is the creepiest post ever if you don't know who Molly is." -Fee
"a vegan death match sounds like something where we all end up hugging." -LisaPunk


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Aaand...it's not vegan...
PostPosted: Sun Dec 09, 2012 7:06 pm 
Offline
Angrily Posting on Facebook
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 20, 2010 3:25 pm
Posts: 3137
Location: Sacramento
I've been using a tub of Trader Joe's soy protein powder for a couple months and just noticed today that it has D3 in it. That's stupid/annoying.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Aaand...it's not vegan...
PostPosted: Sun Dec 09, 2012 8:17 pm 
Offline
Lactose Intolerant...Literally
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2011 8:37 pm
Posts: 712
Location: Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
A lot of breadcrumbs here have fish oil, milk, and all sorts of things.. It's just bizarre! And so unexpected.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Aaand...it's not vegan...
PostPosted: Sun Dec 09, 2012 8:42 pm 
Offline
Kitchens Planning Manchester
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 20, 2010 11:28 pm
Posts: 2536
Location: Connecticut
Yeah breadcrumbs are weird, they always have like a million ingredients. I stick with panko because it's almost always vegan.

_________________
"I never do anything you say, Isa. When I cook from VWAV and it says to add one cup of flour, I add three cups of olive oil! Now who wants some forking muffins??"-ExpiredSanity
Tumblr
Cast Iron & Cupcakes
I guess I have a Twitter now


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Aaand...it's not vegan...
PostPosted: Sun Dec 09, 2012 9:07 pm 
Offline
Should Spend More Time Helping the Animals
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 19, 2010 9:39 pm
Posts: 6073
I usually make my own bread crumbs, often out of home made bread. I try to keep some in the freezer all the time.

_________________
"I'm no elephant, but now I want molasses." -Moon


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Aaand...it's not vegan...
PostPosted: Sun Dec 09, 2012 9:50 pm 
Offline
Lactose Intolerant...Literally
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2011 8:37 pm
Posts: 712
Location: Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Fancy. Pants. ;)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Aaand...it's not vegan...
PostPosted: Sun Dec 09, 2012 10:12 pm 
Offline
Nailed to the V

Joined: Sat Jan 01, 2011 8:19 pm
Posts: 557
Location: Sacred City, California
Last year Trader Joes Brandy Beans were vegan. This year, they are not, which my partner and I found out after reading the TJ's thread here on the PPK...and after we ate all but ONE of the damned beans.

Reading labels is important.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Aaand...it's not vegan...
PostPosted: Sun Dec 09, 2012 11:43 pm 
Offline
Nooch of Earl
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 12, 2010 2:18 pm
Posts: 3734
Location: Bella Napoli
I think most Dutch/Belgian and Czech beers are vegan, and all the Mexican ones I've looked into have been.. I'd worry mostly about British and Irish stouts.

Anyway, live and learn. Panko is usually OK. I remember seeing in this forum that someone accidentally bought bread crumbs with some kind of fish in it, so it could be worse! I mean fishy bread crumbs just sounds nasty.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Aaand...it's not vegan...
PostPosted: Sun Dec 09, 2012 11:48 pm 
Offline
Discovered unobtainium
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 19, 2010 9:21 pm
Posts: 12251
Location: Dinosaur Stampede
German beers are vegan. As far I know, this is regulated.

_________________
"This is the creepiest post ever if you don't know who Molly is." -Fee
"a vegan death match sounds like something where we all end up hugging." -LisaPunk


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Aaand...it's not vegan...
PostPosted: Mon Dec 10, 2012 12:01 am 
Offline
Lactose Intolerant...Literally
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2011 8:37 pm
Posts: 712
Location: Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Australian beers generally aren't vegan, either.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Aaand...it's not vegan...
PostPosted: Mon Dec 10, 2012 1:50 am 
Offline
Semen Strong
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 19, 2010 7:10 pm
Posts: 19105
Location: Cliffbar NJ
lavawitch wrote:
German beers are vegan. As far I know, this is regulated.


Knuckle-up Reinheitsgebot!

_________________
My oven is bigger on the inside, and it produces lots of wibbly wobbly, cake wakey... stuff. - The PoopieB.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Aaand...it's not vegan...
PostPosted: Mon Dec 10, 2012 1:22 pm 
Offline
Calls "cavemen" on that
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 11, 2010 10:53 pm
Posts: 2371
The whole D fortified thing really confused me. Still does. I didn't even realize than many items that are fortified with D vitamins (i.e. D3) come from animal products. Cereal is the biggest culprit of this. Some juices too. Even some soymilk (not Silk, which is what I buy, but some other brands).

The confusing part is, there are no animal products listed on the ingredients list. Just vitamin D. It's irritating. I have to look up stuff online to figure it out. But I don't eat much cereal anyway, so that's ok. Special K with strawberries is one of the few I like and it's vegan.

We have a couple of cereal threads that might be helpful
viewtopic.php?f=18&t=9582&hilit=cereal
viewtopic.php?f=18&t=1531&hilit=cereal

Don't get me started on Orange Juice that has fish oil in it. I guess it might go well with the breadcrumbs that have fish in them.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Aaand...it's not vegan...
PostPosted: Mon Dec 10, 2012 2:04 pm 
Offline
Dying from Nooch Lung

Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2012 3:37 pm
Posts: 3265
Location: Ireland
Wine is a demon. Lot's of wines contain milk and/or eggs. I had to buy a bottle of wine the other day as a present for someone but hadn't internet access to go look for one that was vegan so I made do with a wine from the shelf. I try to avoid not vegan products even when I'm buying for others but laziness got the better of me Friday.

Over here it is impossible to get vegan olives. OLIVES!!! For crying out loud, what is with this world and adding lactose into everything?

_________________
Meowchickameow meow! - Tofulish


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Aaand...it's not vegan...
PostPosted: Mon Dec 10, 2012 2:07 pm 
Offline
Discovered unobtainium
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 19, 2010 9:21 pm
Posts: 12251
Location: Dinosaur Stampede
Wha...? Eggs in wine?

_________________
"This is the creepiest post ever if you don't know who Molly is." -Fee
"a vegan death match sounds like something where we all end up hugging." -LisaPunk


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Aaand...it's not vegan...
PostPosted: Mon Dec 10, 2012 3:00 pm 
Offline
Not NOT A Furry
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 17, 2012 3:26 pm
Posts: 466
Location: Zagreb, Croatia
Here olives contain lactic acid. Luckily, industrial lactic acid is made of glucose, not lactose.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Aaand...it's not vegan...
PostPosted: Mon Dec 10, 2012 3:01 pm 
Offline
Should Spend More Time Helping the Animals
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 07, 2010 4:57 pm
Posts: 6516
Location: Boston, MA
lavawitch wrote:
Wha...? Eggs in wine?


Yes, they use egg whites somehow in the filtering process.

_________________
I would eat Dr. Cow pocket cheese in a second. I would eat it if you hid it under your hat, or in your backpack, but not if it was in your shoe. That's where I draw the line. -allularpunk


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Aaand...it's not vegan...
PostPosted: Mon Dec 10, 2012 3:17 pm 
Offline
Dying from Nooch Lung
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 20, 2010 11:01 am
Posts: 3382
Location: Chandler, AZ
Never found vegan bread crumbs. I now just but regular bread in the toaster oven real low for like 30 minutes and then zip it in the blender. Use more bread than you think you'd need because it always makes less than you'd think!

_________________
Half the lies I tell are not true.
"luckily us vegans dont go into cardiac arrest...but we do go into food comas" - Adam Crisis


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 62 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
Template made by DEVPPL/ThatBigForum and fancied up by What Cheer